Sweet Briar College JYF in Paris

WELCOME TO JYF IN PARIS!


JYF is an advanced academic immersion study abroad program in Paris, France. Available as a semester (fall or spring) or academic year program, our aim is to provide opportunities for students to expand their international perspective, cultivate their French language skills, and live like a native while taking courses in their major within the French university system. As a true immersion program, the program prioritizes direct international experience and student involvement in French life, language and culture.

JYF is the oldest coeducational intercollegiate study abroad program in Paris. Created in 1923 by the University of Delaware, JYF in Paris has been administered by Sweet Briar College in Virginia since 1948. Since its origin, JYF continues its established tradition of excellence in study abroad, providing a true immersion experience for students.

JYF Mission

The Sweet Briar JYF Program in Paris promotes intercultural learning through a semester or year-long true immersion experience, both cultural and linguistic. We aim to provide an academic experience that increases your competency in the French language, while allowing you to elect courses that fit and enhance your academic goals. JYF gives you the tools for a deeper understanding of French culture through our intensive orientation, access to a wide variety of courses, home-stays, extra-curricular opportunities, and interaction with our staff and instructors. This reflective intercultural experience will lead you to develop a deeper understanding of the world, a broader perspective on your own place in it, and open a world of post-graduate opportunities.

JYF at Study Abroad fairs
on your campus!

Institution Fair Date  Day Time
Longwood University 8/31/17 Thursday 2 – 5 pm
Lafayette College 9/6/17 Wednesday 4:10 – 6 pm
Univ. of Southern California 9/7/17 Thursday 10 am – 2 pm
Case Western Reserve Univ. 9/8/17 Friday 10:30 am – 2 pm
Rice University 9/8/17 Friday 11 am – 2 pm
Tufts University 9/13/17 Wednesday 11:30 am – 2 pm
Brandeis University 9/14/17 Thursday 11 am – 2:30 pm
Wheaton College 9/15/17 Friday 11 am – 2 pm
Amherst College 9/18/17 Monday 4 – 6 pm
Williams College 9/20/17 Wednesday 4 – 7 pm
Connecticut College 9/21/17 visit & meeting
Washington and Lee University 9/21/17 Thursday 11 am – 3 pm
Providence College 9/25/17 Monday 6 – 8 pm
Sweet Briar College 9/25/17
Whittier College 9/25/17 Monday 10:30 am – 2:30 pm
Bates College 9/27/17 Wednesday 11 am – 1 pm
Denison University 9/27/17 Wednesday 12:30 – 5:30 pm
James Madison University 9/28/17 Thursday 11 am – 3 pm
Kenyon College 10/17/17 Tuesday 10:30 am – 1:15 pm
Swarthmore College 10/23/17 Monday 10 am – 2:30 pm
Haverford College 10/28/17 Saturday 1 pm – 5 pm
Northwestern University 11/1/17 Wednesday 2 – 5 pm
College of Wooster 11/14/17 Tuesday 10 am – 2 pm